Being Normal is Over-Rated

Inspiration / Self-Improvement

If you are always trying to be normal you will never know how amazing you can be. - Maya Angelou

Being normal is over-rated.

Normal is subjective and relative. It’s definition is always evolving depending on the time and place. That makes it kind of fickle, right?

Yes, sometimes there is comfort, safety and security in normalcy. But, let’s be honest, sometimes our normalcy hides other things.

Soul-sucking things like frustration, boredom, detachment, lethargy or restlessness.

” ‘Normal’ is not something to aspire to, it’s something to get away from.”

– Jodie Foster

Think about this:

  • Have you ever had the nagging feeling that you’ve outgrown your normal life?

  • That maybe, just maybe, your normal life had become too small for who you have become?

  • Or maybe you have a lingering sense that you’re squandering your full potential?

If you find yourself answering yes to any of the above questions, maybe it’s time to take it up a notch. Being normal isn’t cutting it anymore.

Maybe it’s time to find out just how amazing you can be…

Any ideas on how to go from normal to amazing?

This is Day Eight of The Pinterest Therapy Sessions. Click here to read the rest of the series.

To make it easier to follow the series, you may want to subscribe by email or follow me on Facebook or Twitter. If one of those options strikes your fancy,  just look in the right sidebar to connect.

Or you can also follow me on bloglovin by clicking below.

Follow on Bloglovin

 

21 Comments

  1. Since I have never been “normal” a day in my life (I’m pretty tall and always have been), I adopted the philosophy “why be a pigeon when you can be a peacock?!?” I’d rather be different any day of the week. At least then, no one knows what to expect 😉

    Stopping by from Sharefest!

    Like

  2. Ah, such a great blog title and an invitation to follow the Yellow Brick Road. Just what I needed today. I love both of the quotes. Trying to connect but there’s a please wait box.

    Like

  3. Normal, I think, has its time and place (ie in places where you’re supposed to behave) but when you don’t have to be normal, I say let the freak flag fly! Haha. Excuse me while I go dance to Gettin Jiggy With It in my car. =)

    Like

  4. It’s hard to push past your comfort zone and break into something more. Thanks for sharing this post! Found you on SITS

    Like

  5. Rachel G says

    Who would want to be “normal”. Kind of sounds like a synonym for “boring” to me! 😛

    Like

  6. clayton paul says

    I can’t remember the exact quote, Stacey, but it was from Marilyn Monroe and she said ‘…if you aspire to be normal, then you’ve set your sites too low…’

    Good post!

    Clayton

    Like

  7. I felt that way almost a year ago, so I created my blog. I wouldn’t say I went from normal to amazing, but I took it up a notch and am loving it!

    Like

    • Ditto for me! My world was feeling too small so I tentatively stepped out into the blogosphere in June 2013. With blogging, I’ve found something where I lose all track of time when I”m doing it. That can’t be bad, can it? I definitely feel like I upgraded my life with my little blog….

      Like

Comments are closed.