Long Days, Short Years

Inspiration / Self-Improvement

The Days are Long but the Years are Short

This week I’m indulging my rather unladylike appetite for cake (and pumpkin pie, if the mood is right!)  Yes, my birthday is coming soon to one fine October day.

I can’t help it….birthdays bring out the sentimental fool in me.  And if I’m waxing nostalgic, it’s more fun to do it while stuffing my cakehole/piehole. All that sugar and gluten temporarily distract me from an acute, and possibly painful, awareness of the passage of time. 

In my head, I can already hear Matthew Broderick in his circa 1986 Ferris Bueller voice saying

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” 

And here it is…just in case you want to hear it, too, if only for the iconic “oh yeah”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91lJhEzMaH4

One day you’re in your dorm pulling an all-nighter studying for your GOVT 335 Politics of Latin American Machismo final and, next thing you know, you’re middle-aged, looking for the perfect pair of “sassy” reading glasses and getting a colonoscopy!

That’s why I love this “splendid truth” from Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project:

The days are long but the years are short.

The first time I saw this quote on Gretchen’s blog, I experienced an “ah-ha” moment – the kind that I previously believed only Oprah experienced. The older I get, the more I appreciate the succinct truth of this statement.

At times, I don’t recognize the responsible adult I see in the mirror. Regardless of the date on my birth certificate, I feel forever a girl.

…… A girl with a head that involuntarily starts bopping when late eighties/early nineties music comes on.

…… A girl who hasn’t come to terms with her all-time fave songs being played on “oldies” stations.

…… A girl who still takes a childish delight in eating cake because, what the h#@%, life is short!

Do you agree that the days are long, but the years are short?

This is Day Nine of The Pinterest Therapy Sessions. Click here to read the rest of the series.

To make it easier to follow the series, you may want to subscribe by email or follow me on Facebook or Twitter. If one of those options strikes your fancy,  just look in the right sidebar to connect.

Or you can also follow me on bloglovin by clicking below.

Follow on Bloglovin

 

5 Comments

  1. So very true!
    I was just admiring my first born who is in high school and not so little and wonder – how did it get here? How did she get this big and tall and smart and gorgeous?
    How did I get so old? So fast?
    I’m not old by any chance but the kids growing before your eyes, reminds me that I’m getting up there….my days are long and yes, my years are short!!

    Visiting from #SitsSharefest

    Keep it Touched,
    KG
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com

    Like

  2. Could not agree more! My baby is two months today and that pretty much sums it up for us… Not quite years but days are long and weeks are short! Thanks for sharing, found your article from SITSgirls sharefest!

    Like

  3. ‘One day you’re in your dorm pulling an all-nighter studying for your GOVT 335 Politics of Latin American Machismo final and, next thing you know, you’re middle-aged, looking for the perfect pair of “sassy” reading glasses and getting a colonoscopy!’
    hahaha oh dear! so true!!

    Like

Comments are closed.