Want To Become A Morning Person? Now’s The Time….

Fall / Inspiration / Self-Improvement

Operation Rise & Shine

The early bird gets the worm.

And oh-so-much more than the worm….

Morning people are more productive and proactive. They’re healthier, wealthier, happier and more successful. Β At least if you believe numerous studies and all the articles in Forbes, Fast Company, Inc., etc.

With my night owl ways, I’ve always suspected I’m missing out on the good life.

Oh, if only I could be like Vogue Editrix Anna Wintour, who has a 5:45 a.m. tennis match every morning before ruling the fashion world with a sadistic fist and terrorizing her fashionably dressed but malnourished underlings.

But every year, for one week in the Fall, I get a tantalizing glimpse of the early rising life.

In this one magical week after Daylight Savings Time ends, I wake up early. I have extra time in the mornings to make breakfast, read, relax, and tick a few things off my to-do list. I don’t have to will myself out of bed at the last possible minute, eat breakfast hurriedly in the car, or apply lipstick using my rearview mirror.

In this one week, I see how morning people live.

It’s a bright-eyed and bushy-tailed life and I like it. I like it so much I want it for myself the other 51 weeks of the year.

Operation Rise & Shine

So this year, I’m striving to capitalize on the “Fall Back” momentum. I’m calling it Operation Rise & Shine. You know, because if you put the word “Operation” in front of anything, it just sounds more official.

Want to join me?

This will be more fun if we do it together. Maybe we could even do some Facebook and Twitter check-ins for accountability. I’m up for anything.

In the interests of full disclosure, though, I’ve no intent to rise at 5 AM. I need my beauty sleep and, well, I’m not insane. My goal is to get up a mere hour or so earlier. Most days for me that will translate to somewhere between 6:30 and 7:00 AM EST. But don’t worry, if you’re crazy and/or beautiful or live in a more exotic time zone and want to get up at an unspeakable hour, I’m there for you, too.

So who’s in?

If you’re in, let’s connect over on Facebook or Twitter. Or you can leave a comment below, too.

26 Comments

  1. Pingback: This Month’s Jaw-Drop Comments « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  2. Pingback: Early Mornings, Cookies, and Crafts: Pin-it Party #22! - MamaGab

  3. Julie says

    This is great! I woke up at 5 this morning, and knew if I didn’t try to sleep some more that I would be dragging by this afternoon. I closed my eyes, and it was 6. At 6:15 I got up and grabbed my book, but then jumped right back in bed with it. I am a morning person, but I don’t want to get up too early! LOL
    Great idea! I’m in!

    Like

  4. After 40 years of early morning “yes sir, no sir” I am retired and keeping civilized hours. A sleep by 2 am and up by 9…or maybe 10. The clocks just changed? Who knew?

    Like

  5. Denise G. says

    You are insane! I don’t think a night owl can become a morning person. You can force your way through and make do. Trust me. I taught 1st grade for 6 years and was at school between 6:30-6:45 most mornings. I got a lot done even. This non-morning person is quite “task-efficient” in the morning. Just don’t ask me to think. Did I like it or ever become a morning person? Hell, no! πŸ˜‰ Now with 2 little ones, I’m up most days by 7. After teaching, that is sleeping in. My sleep patterns are ruined, and I’m sleep deprived so I’m in bed by 10 p.m. most nights (WTH?? Not right, not right at all). Have I suddenly become a morning person? Nope. I just hate the mornings still and miss staying up late. Sigh.

    Good luck though! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. I wake up at 6:30 every weekday morning to get the kids off to school. I hope that counts, because I’ve never been a morning person. Although…my son starts high school next year and he’s got to be on the bus at 6:30. That’s gonna be tough for me!

    Like

  7. Umm……I would love to be a morning person but getting up at 7am is just hard for me… I woke up today at 8am because my toddler woke me up and thought OMG!…why so early? then remembered – he’s still on his normal time so for him it’s really 9am.

    Visiting from #SitsSharefest

    Keep it Touched,
    KG
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com

    Like

  8. I feel slightly cursed sometimes, other times blessed. I’m both … a night owl who can get up early and function. I love mornings, specially when I’m back home in New Zealand, as much as I love nights, when everyone here is sleeping πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your early morning plan.

    Like

      • I guess but to sleep until noon … I can’t imagine how that happens but sometimes it looks so good πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind a 5am start, just so I can write when I’m fresh. I wonder … perhaps it is possible, without giving up my midnight-and-after bedtimes. Anyway, looking forward to seeing how you do.

        Like

  9. Okay, since we live less than an hour and a half away…you can convince me to get up at 8am instead of 9am. (I actually get up like three to four times a night for one reason or another. When hubby works dayshift, I get up with him to see him off to work at 6AM, but I’m more productive at night.)

    Like

    • Hi Crystal! I have this theory that “Morning People” are better sleepers than the rest of us. They fall asleep when their heads hit the pillow and don’t wake up again until the alarm goes off. That rarely happens for me! If I could sleep like that, I might be a morning person, too!

      Like

  10. Amanda Louise says

    I am definitely an early bird. Although I have to be consistent or else it gets brutal having to get up before 6 for work. I am good for nothing after 9pm so it shakes out I guess πŸ™‚

    Like

    • You’ll have to tell me what the “worm” is like! Since I’m not an Early Bird, I’ve never gotten the worm! I’m hoping it’s all it’s cracked up to be!

      Like

  11. ohhh I am a night owl at heart and yet I get up at 6.30am everyday now. The tricky thing is I still stay up too late. I will join you there is something magical about being up early and getting tons done before 9am. My challenge is to be in bed by 10pm so i can enjoy being up o early. Ready set lets go

    Like

    • Yeah Karen! I love your “Captured Bliss” series and your concept of the #ordinarilyfabulous! Your “about page” wows me….I have a problem with living life as a dress rehearsal and being a slave to a never-ending to do list so your website is like water for my thirsty, busy and entirely too uptight soul.

      The “second wind” is always what gets me. I’ll feel tired around 9 or 10 pm, but I know if I just stay up my second wind will kick in and I’ll be good for another few hours….which leads to 5 or 6 hours of sleep and not feeling my best the next day….it’s a vicious cycle!

      Like

    • You may not have Daylight Savings Time and the “extra hour” in November, but at least you get The Day of The Dead celebrations. That holiday hasn’t yet made it to the South. I’m a firm believer that you can never have too many holidays!

      I love Arizona! I think I once suffered a case of sensory overload there in the Painted Desert…The natural beauty just overwhelmed me!

      Like

  12. I’m more of a noon riser myself, but do need to get on the bandwagon of getting up earlier so I can do … well, you know, SOMETHING during the day that doesn’t involve yawning or searching for a place to sneak in a nap.

    Like

Comments are closed.