Living a life you’re proud of…..what F. Scott Fitzgerald, Brad Pitt or someone else said

Inspiration

This seems apropos for today….

I hope you live a life you're proud of....

These words are usually attributed to F. Scott Fitzgerald from his short story “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”. Read as much as you’d like, but you won’t find this in any of Fitzgerald’s works. Apparently, the words are from the Benjamin Button screenplay. And thus, they are properly attributed to Brad Pitt the movie’s screenwriter, Eric Roth. In uttering the lines, Brad Pitt may have used his artistic license to change the word “courage” to “strength”. Β Of course, he’s Brad Pitt, so well, you know, he can do that.

Regardless, they are beautiful words…

10 Comments

  1. What beautiful words indeed!! I just read a quote that said…”if you don’t like where you are…move, you’re not a tree”! πŸ™‚ Yep, it’s never too late to “do you well”! Thanks for sharing my fellow “Carolina girl”! Stopping by from the SITs blogging tribe! Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. “I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” I love, love, love this. Thank you for sharing. Visiting from the SITS Tribe Building Challenge.

    Like

  3. Fantastic quote, and something I’m trying to be mindful of. Being able to start being who I want to be when *I* want to, rather than waiting for some sort of clue or assistance!
    Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚
    (visiting from the SITS tribe building challenge)

    Like

  4. Hi, Stacey! You’re the only one I kind of, sort of know in our SITS tribe building group. I’ve “met” you through Anne Bogel’s Twitterature!

    I’ve never watched Benjamin Button but I love these words. Beautiful, so true, so hard to live by!

    Like

  5. These words are very powerful and have my mind spinning for sure! Thank you for sharing and I’m so happy we connected today with SITS. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work πŸ˜€
    Love, Keia

    Like

  6. Absolutely agree with those words regardless of who penned/said them first (but coming from Brad Pitt makes them better πŸ˜‰ ) Hi from Sharefest

    Like

Comments are closed.